Thankful Thursday


2788bc059281379441c99d967e91d72a

“A birthday is just another day where you go to work and people give you love. Age is just a state of mind, and you are as old as you think you are. You have to count your blessings and be happy.”

~Abhishek Bachchan

This past Monday I celebrated my 47th birthday. It seems to taboo for a woman to divulge her true age, sorry I never got that memo, it’s become so automatic that whenever anyone asks how old I am, I tell them without a second thought. Often they’re surprised that I answer with such honesty, secondly, they’re surprised that I’m still so cheerful and not miserable because I’m getting older; and even more shocked when I say, in my world age is just a number.

 

Reflecting on my 47 years, I can truly say I have a million and one things to be grateful for- family, friends, Mitzy (though I’m her human, she puts up with all of my antics), all of my disappointments and the lessons they brought with them, strangers who’ve become friends and waking up each morning with all of my faculties.

Gratitude is all-inclusive. Good days brings joy to the heart and bad days give you wisdom. Both are essential  because all things have contributed to self, you must include all things in your gratitude. This is especially true of your relationships. We don’t meet plain ole ordinary people; if you give someone a chance, everyone has something important to teach you.

What you have to be grateful for is right there in front of you NOW! It’s not what’s present tomorrow, or the day after or the day after that. Being grateful for all you have in front of you is the true expression of gratitude because you never know what will happen next, you just don’t know! Life changes daily and your blessings gradually change with it. What you have NOW will eventually be what you had, all your tomorrows will eventually become your yesterdays.

 

******

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

 

7 comments on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Morgan (M*ertainment) says:

    Happy belated birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The older I get the more comfortable I become about telling my age.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Soph says:

    I loved this! Even though I’m younger, I’ve never understood why you should be ashamed of saying your real age- it shows you have knowledge and experience. Beautiful words and I love your attitude towards life. Being grateful and finding a positive everyday is life changing 🙂
    https://advicefromblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Miriam says:

    Love your words. So much truth … “bad days give you wisdom …”

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

