Thankful Thursday


sejour114.jpg

You simply will not be the same person two months from now after consciously giving thanks each day for the abundance that exists in your life. And you will have set in motion an ancient spiritual law: the more you have and are grateful for, the more will be given you.”   ~Sarah Ban Breathnach

 

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve sat on the beach staring at the ocean and hoping for enlightenment to strike. In such a relaxing place, it was both fruitless and frustrating. Fruitless because my thoughts never stayed in the same place, they always wandered aimlessly. Frustrating because the enlightenment I so eagerly anticipated never materialised.

Discovering the things that lit me up and gave me a sense of passion required space, work, perseverance, inward reflection. It is very unlikely that my passion would hit me like bolt of lightening. I never had a feeling of gratitude for all those opportunities of spending time on the beach. Now, I have an earnest longing for those days.

black-woman-on-the-beach.jpg

Though I no longer have the opportunity to visit the beach and bask in the warmth of the sun. I am grateful for the memories. A part of gratitude means acknowledging everything that you receive and also appreciating the memories, as well as the present. Learning to live your life as if everything were a miracle, and being aware on a continuous basis of the opportunities life has seen fit to bestow. Sigh! Gratitude has shifted my focus from what my life lacks to the abundance that’s already present.

In true human fashion, we sit in the generosity of life waiting for that spirit of enlightenment to strike. Sometimes spending so much time in our fancies we become frustrated with ourselves, without once appreciating the the wisdom and knowledge of silence. We stare too long at the horizon that when enlightenment strikes, it goes unnoticed.

Happy Thursday!! Always remember to embrace each day with gratitude.

 

 

©Etta D. Richards

7 comments on “Thankful Thursday

  1. DeniseBalog says:

    Reading your post..I am thankful:) Fresh waves of words, refreshment for my spirit and soul:) blessings Etta…landlocked, I can almost feel the sand between my toes:):):)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam says:

    Love your attitude Etta.

    Liked by 2 people

Always great to hear from you....

