Thankful Thursday


BallerinaPainting_resized_768_768.jpg

Courtesy Donnchadh Murphy

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away!”

This quote has been circulating the internet for years with different celebs being credited in citing the quote, George Carlin, Maya Angelou, Hilary Cooper, Kevin Bisch, Philip James Bailey have all had their names attached to it at some point or another. It’s one of my favourites, but it was a bit confusing after seeing so many people being credited as coining the phrase; my first thought was that it must be one of Maya Angelou’s, though I’d never remember coming across it in any of her books I’d read. Then I saw it somewhere else being credited to Will Smith and thought it must be his!

So being the Information Junkie I am, I searched the internet for it’s author.

Well here is what I found: The earliest evidence of the quote’s appearance is said to have been taken from a passage in a book for dancers titled “Tahitian Choreographies” by Vicki Corona, circa 1989…..

“Yes, there are so many grueling details and rehearsals to agonize over, but the dances and music of Tahiti add a happy, healthy dimension to our lives! Remember that life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away! Dancing can do that for you!”

What’s the big deal about a quote? Well before referencing anything in my writing, or when I’m inspired by another, I try to find out as much as I can about the information I’m about to use. More often than not though, searches come up empty as a lot of my  notes comes from the sidelines of newspapers, magazines or public domains. It can be as simple as a one liner that sparks some food for thought. A photo that sparks a fond memory or people I meet on the street. Like gratitude, I find inspiration in everything!

And this quote doesn’t just ring true for Ballerinas, it resonates in all our lives. There are many moments that leaves us breathless!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

©Etta D. Richards

2 comments on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Really cool information. My guess would have been Maya Angelou. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam says:

    Absolutely. Life is full of those moments.

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

