Meaningful Monday


 

c20ad4d76fe97759aa27a0c99bff6710_1429531576.jpg

โ€œAs long as you look for someone else to validate who you are by seeking their approval, you are setting yourself up for disaster. You have to be whole and complete in yourself. No one can give you that. You have to know who you are – what others say is irrelevant.โ€ ~Nic Sheff


I looked in the mirror the other day and noticed a few grey hairs popping up, then looked down and noticed my flattering waistline has long expanded beyond it’s teenage boundaries. But that’s all superficial right? Beauty comes from with in!

I remember ย once telling a friend of mine that I loved who I was, who I had become; A person accepting of myself and not someone who was constantly trying to keep up with who others thought I should be. The evidence of this was my being able to stand in front of a mirror, and not racing to speed deal my hair dresser for an emergency appointment, or freaking out because I could no longer fit into my size 12 Levi’s. In that brief moment as I stared at the woman looking back at me, I thought about what made ME happy, MY worth and what was important to ME! You see, I now measure my worth each day, because we need daily reminders, by reminding myself that I was on the path of transformation….. a journey to something greater. That the person I was no longer exists because of my experiences, I’m better than the person I used to be.

I have became so inspired by my life’s journey and the lessons along the way , it’s even easier to accept the person I’ve become; because I’m healthier, a bit more wiser and more grounded than I was before the greying hairs started popping up and ย waistline decided it was not longer comfortable in those size 12 Levi’s.

A few lesson I’ve learned along the way:
I’ve learned to pushed myself beyond the boundaries of what’s deemed normal
I’ve learned to ask more questions-what? Why? How? Who?
I’ve stopped settling for what others think I deserve, instead I choose to live my passion
I decided to spend time with those I love

Let’s face it! We are our own worst enemies. We can choose to have others dictate to us or we can decide to go against the grain, defying the norm and create our own objective of what we want in our lives. How you manage yourself is entirely up to you.

Have a Meaningful Monday and Love the person you are!

5 comments on “Meaningful Monday

  1. Miriam says:

    Nice self-affirming post Etta. Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

