Wellness Wednesday-The Feeling of Hate


688a80ca3fbde276848850f99bae1397.jpg
“A flower doesn’t love you or hate you, it just exists.” ~ Mike White

“I hate my teacher!” I said slobbering all over my grandmother’s knees. “I hate her!”
“Do you know what it means to hate? Can you kill your teacher, do you wish she was destroyed gone from the face of this Earth?”
“No!” I shouted back. “But I hate her.”
“Then you don’t hate her, you DISLIKE her, but you don’t hate anybody. Hating someone means you wish they didn’t  exist, you wish they would just disappear off the face of this Earth.”
I was 11 years old and it was my first lesson about hate. Did I ever hate anyone or thing again? Sure I did. But over the years those words from my grandmother still plays in my head, when the feeling of hate surfaces, and after  reaching a certain level of maturity I’ve  trained myself to ask these questions. Do I wish this person or thing did not exist? Do I wish this person or thing to just be we washed off the face of this Earth by the mighty powers of some Universal force?  I take a deep breath in and smile. I no longer hate brussel sprout, now I simply dislike them. I no longer hate the lady who told me I should get to the back of the bus where I belonged. I don’t even dislike her, I feel sorry for her.
“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that.  Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.”  Dr. Martin Luther King.
The hatred I had for my teacher, was no different than the hatred anyone may have for a person of a different race, colour, creed, disability,  or gender.  When you harbour the ill feelings of hatred, it eats you up from the inside out. The darkness becomes like a black hole consuming everything in its path. Clouding your judgement, stealing your joy, robbing you of love; because in order to get love, you have to give love.  It takes control of your life.  Eventually, you begin to forget why you hate, then that hate turns inward as you begin to hate yourself. You begin to wallow in self-pity. You begin to give valuable space to that hate.
I no longer give space to anythings that are not in my circle and have disconnected from the things that do not bring me joy. I value by sanity, my self-worth and most of all I value myself too much to be eaten up by hate.
~Happy Wednesday……
4 comments on “Wellness Wednesday-The Feeling of Hate

  1. eths says:

    Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam says:

    Hate and hatred are such harsh words. Can’t be good for our souls.

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

