Wellness Wednesday-Life Happens


abstract-1233873_960_720.jpg

Pixabay

“If you want to make an easy job seem mighty hard, just keep putting off doing it.”
~Olin Miller

After falling off the exercise wagon for nearly a year now, yes I’m still walking the dog, but a few months ago I decided to stop making excuses and got back on the wagon. I’m walking longer, with a more brisk pace. Now instead of Mitzy waiting for me, I’m running to keep up with her and like that, my stroll turned into a brisk walk and now a comfortable run.  Within a week I felt a huge difference, felt myself becoming more energetic, even when it seems like I’m sitting on the couch doing nothing.  My brain is moving as my thoughts are more constructive, with a fanciful dance of creativity instead of lethargy.
I know that to maintain a balanced in life one has to be well rounded, not just a positive mindset but also a positive body. But LIFE happens! You get so caught up in taking care of everything and everyone around you, that you can sometimes forget to take care of YOU before you know it, weeks turns into months, months turn into a year (s).
You’ll be surprised at the ways we waste life, it’s easier to waste time than it is to occupy your time with something meaningful because excuses are more fluid than action. Action takes effort, excuses come like the air we breathe and some people live on excuses.
We waste our lives with:
Meaningless distractions- Where do I begin? A little distraction can be good at times if you’ve been working non-stop for long periods of time. Stepping back for a few minutes can help you see the problem from a new perspective. But let’s face it, for some of us  life can get scary, but engrossing yourself in a constant distraction of social media, television, video games doesn’t make life better, they are simply distractions. Whatever situation you’re running from. Face them, resolve them, then move on.
A state of overwhelming- If you have too many things going on in your life that you feel hopeless and helpless, the most logical thing to do is clear your plate, not pile more things on it. Think of being on the buffet line, the more things you pile on your plate, the more stuff starts to fall off. In life, the more things you try to keep together, the more they fall apart.
A state of busyness-   Don’t be a rocking chair. Don’t confuse motion with progress. A rocking chair moves back and forth each day, but it rocks in the same spot.  Stop wasting your time on menial task, yes emails some emails may need responding to, errands need taking care of but don’t allow them to occupy all of your time. At some point, you have to ask yourself. Is what I’m doing constructive?   Am I making progress?  Trade your excuses for action.
~Happy Wednesday
©Etta D. Richards
6 comments on “Wellness Wednesday-Life Happens

  1. ladycee says:

    Excellent Etta! I love this. I too dropped off my exercise regime and have used excuses about why I’m not resuming my jogging. I also liked your observation about not confusing motion with progress. I needed to hear this. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EttaD says:

      Glad to see I’m not the only one with excuses 😉 LOL! LOL!…..Like I said, Life happens, time is fleeting and before we know it one day turns in to two. But the most important part is to progress past those excuses. We will never regain time we’ve lost, but we can always move forward from where we were yesterday! Don’t be a rocking chair. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. love the rocking chair analogy. Great post 🙂

    Like

  3. […] via Wellness Wednesday-Life Happens — Simply Etta D. […]

    Like

  4. Don’t be a Rocking Chair….I LOVE it!! I would love to share this post if that is OK. Thank you for the motivation and inspiration ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

