Meaningful Monday- Gathering Your Resources


 

business-world-463338_960_720.jpg

“Nothing can stop the man with the right mental attitude from achieving his goal; nothing on earth can help the man with the wrong mental attitude.” ~ Thomas Jefferson


There are many things in our lives we  can do alone and many things we simply cannot do alone; we all are surrounded by resources that can be mobilised to help us achieve whatever we want.  These resources include family, friends, our faith and even complete strangers. But at times we over  we overlook these resources and fail to ask for help because of pride or fear of rejection because asking for help means a sign of weakness to admit we need help. Sometimes we fail to ask for help because we feel our goals and dreams aren’t worthy to be birthed. Whatever your reasons for refusing help, it’s a waste. There’s nothing wrong with saying I have a dream, I don’t know where to begin to fulfil my goals, and I need help!

It’s important to recognise you cannot do it alone. It’s important that you learn to use all your strength; including your inner resources such as discipline, courage and spirit. Apart from becoming a successful author, it’s also a dream  of mine to become a successful life coach, mentor and motivator to single mothers and young adults. The first step for me in achieving that was to identify that I’m just as capable and competent to this as anyone else. Once I understood this myself that it was up to me to build my ‘tribe’ to help me on the road of fulfilling my goals, I took stock and decided that I needed to ask for help. My second step was identifying a coach, someone who could take me where I wanted to go.

Five years, or even two years ago I would NOT have taken such a huge step in my life in spreading my wings. Next to moving to another country, this is my next big step. I can happily say, my courage came from YOU! You the person reading this. You the person who take time each day to read my blog. You the person who yourself have decided to share your own story and gave me the courage to share my own.

I recognise that we are all different in the ways that make us unique, which is good. I accept that!

 

~Happy Monday

©Etta D. Richards

10 comments on “Meaningful Monday- Gathering Your Resources

  1. […] tells about the power of not giving up, it also shows the power of encouragement. Yesterday’s blog spoke about gathering your resources by finding people who can support you in achieving your […]

    Like

  2. Cristina says:

    I learned that the only resource is me. I reached out for help and everybody is so into their life’s and own problems. I felt that actually only I could help myself come out of the place I found myself. Find even funny when people say their there for us, and then when you call, they don’t even answer the phone. I’m not bitter or anything. I did understood people also have their own problems and can’t take more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EttaD says:

      You can be your own resource. But finding additional resources is definitely a plus, you just have to find the right group of people. Often the people we least suspect will support us and it doesn’t have to be family or close friends. I’ve found so many wonderful people who are not related to me in anyway, and they were the ones who have supported me the most.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Anonymous says:

    Finding and using your resources is the true way to success. Your blogs are so inspiring and always seem to come at the right moment, I’m now searching for my resources. Thank you for the inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Inspiring Etta. Also an apt moment for me to read this. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

