Feel Good Friday- The 1 Hour Rule


da35f66f

“Time is what we want most, but what we use worst. ”  ~William Penn

Here’s your life in numbers or should I say hours.
8760 hours in a year
730 hours in a month
168 hours in a week
24 hours in a day

 

Now, have you ever heard of the five-hour rule? If not, don’t worry found out about it a few months ago myself. Many world leaders and extremely successful people, despite being super busy, set a minimum of 1 hour each day to educating themselves through some form of personal development. They spend five hours per week doing activities that you can call deliberate learning. Performers spend double that practising their skills. These practices can include reading, reflecting, experimenting to see what works and what does or practising their craft to make them better at what they do.

Researchers believe it takes 10,000 hours of studying something to make you an expert in that field, but this can vary depending on your field of expertise because obviously, some people need more time than others. For instance, a scientist needs more time experimenting on a formula than a ballerina needs perfecting a dance move.

I can now honestly say I’m an expert Mom! With two teenagers I’ve spent more than my 10,000 hours in study, practice and experimenting.

On a serious note. Being good something is more than just planning, it’s making the first step in doing it. Being great in something takes more than starting, you have to continue work on your craft. Let’s face it, even the best athlete prepares himself for the game through practice, studying his opponent or competitor and listening to their coach or advisor.

If you were to reflect on your life and write down what you do every hour of each day, how will you stack up? Are you an expert, on your way to becoming an expert? Or Just shooting the breeze watching life pass by?

Make those hours count!

~Happy Friday©

©Etta D. Richards

****
e624z

imgflip.com

 

****

11 comments on “Feel Good Friday- The 1 Hour Rule

  1. […] and newspapers or magazines for newsworthy information. Switch off the TV and pick up a book! In 10,000 hours you could be an expert in anything. I’m currently in the middle of ‘Love and Law’ […]

    Like

  2. […] 4. Create an appetite for learning: Whether it’s knitting, cooking or learning a new profession personal development should NOT be removed from your daily ritual. Personal growth is a part of evolving, immerse yourself in something new, doctors have hobbies and an insatiable appetite for learning, not because their profession demands it but because it keeps the mind sharp.  Remember the 1-hour rule . […]

    Like

  3. […] know it might be a bit complicated remembering all these rules, but rules can be set to make our lives less complicated, less chaotic and beneficial to our […]

    Like

  4. Twentisdom says:

    This is a good read! I’m brand new to all of this, but I wrote my first article on the 20-hour rule if you’d like to check it out! The journey to becoming an expert is long, but so worth it. I’m constantly trying to improve my skills in the area of business and diy-like projects.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You always have interesting and inspiring posts Etta. This year I have decided to run a 5k. After much procrastination, and random moments of training, I have decided to do something so as to improve in this area daily for the next five weeks. Reading about this five hour rule encourages me to stick with this plan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EttaD says:

      Yay!!! Congratulations. I get super excited when I hear people setting goals for themselves and even more when they follow through with those goals. There are so many possibilities out there for us, if only we would accept that. Procrastination is our greatest enemy when trying to follow our goals, only the strong and the determined can beat it and move forward. So proud of you kicking procrastination in the butt 😉

      I’ve set so many goals for myself sometimes it’s frightening. But amidst the fear I have courage and hope to keep me going.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I too love hearing of the goals others set. Not only is it exciting to see the goals others are working towards, it also encourages me to move forward with my own. Procrastination is indeed one of my greatest hurdles, one which I am working at breaking – add that to my list of goals : )

        Liked by 1 person

  6. ladycee says:

    Heard of the 10,000 hours theory but not the 5-hour rule. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

