Terrific Tuesday- Vision Boards


DSC_0046.jpg

“What we are today, comes from our thoughts of yesterday. And our present thoughts, build our life of tomorrow. Our life is the creation of our mind.”  ~Buddha

Yesterday’s blogged touched on affirmations with hints on how to successfully affirm things into your life. Like affirmations, vision boards have their share of popularity, with more the same of likes and dislikes. Like affirmations, whether you believe it or not, visualisation does work. Olympic athletes have been using them to for years to improve performance and Psychology Today reported that the brain patterns activated when a weightlifter lifts heavy weights are also similarly activated when the lifter just visualise lifting the weights.

 

Vision boards were popular long before “The Secret” became a bestseller. But in creating your vision board, you should focus on how you want to feel, not just on things that you want. There’s nothing wrong with including tangible things. However, the more your board focuses on how you want to feel, the more it will be manifested in your life. The more clarity you have the more you will attract the things you want.

 

When I created my vision board, I not only put pictures of the home I wanted, places I wanted to travel to, I also posted pictures of family to represent the feeling of love, a flock of birds which to me represented the sense of freedom or serenity. Along with those visuals, I also added a few inspirational notes along the border of my board to reinforce the feeling of inspiration.

 

Creating and using vision boards serves several purposes. They allow you to:

Identify your vision and give it clarity– It’s easy to say “I want a better life,” but have you given serious thought to exactly what that means? Try to envision what your “better life” looks like. For some people, a better life means being able to take vacations or take an early retirement.

 
Reinforce your daily affirmations– Keep your attention on your intentions. Another key purpose that vision boards serve is to help you stay focused. It isn’t difficult to start each day with a positive attitude until you get out of bed. No matter what happens during your day, your vision board is a constant reminder of where you intend to be.

 
Motivate you to push toward those visions– It’s difficult enough to hold a picture in your head with so much already going on up there. Vision boards help you hold onto your vision be projecting them back to you through the visuals you’ve placed on your board. It’s like repetitive learning, the more you see it, the longer the vision last in your mind.

Pull out those scissors and markers. Grab those old magazines and glue sticks and begin creating your vision of the future.

 

~Have a Terrific Tuesday

©Etta D. Richards

 

7 comments on “Terrific Tuesday- Vision Boards

  1. zoeyweaver says:

    Vision boards are my absolute favourite! I have been creating them most of my life (I think I created my first one when I was like 10 or something) and they have never failed me. Great post, very informative!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. luckyjc007 says:

    Great suggestions and I agree , you can not sit and wait for things to happen, you must be motivated and work toward your goals. Things will happen along the way to get you there. No, it will not happen over night! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Miriam says:

    Wonderful idea. I haven’t done a vision board in years and I have loads of old magazines just lying around. Thanks for the motivation …

    Liked by 1 person

    • EttaD says:

      The last one I did was about 2 years ago and I’m still watching all of my visions play out. Once the final one is done, I’m creating a new one 😉
      What I probably should’ve added in what that, results are not instantaneous and you have to work for them. Not just create the board, sit and wait for things to happen 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

