Thankful Thursday-Being Specific in Your Request


 

cemetery-1750642_1280.jpg

Courtesy of Pixabay

 

“There is a truth deep down inside of you that has been waiting for you to discover it, and that truth is this: you deserve all good things life has to offer.”
~Rhonda Byrne

During one of our many road trips, we stopped at a quaint tea house along the way. Our server, who was very polite by the way in explaining what each meal was on the menu just so we’d get a feel of would we’d like and probably won’t like. After deciding on our meals, she went over our choice of beverages. I requested a simple glass still water. She returned a few minutes later and much to my surprise set a glass of water in front of with ice cubes floating on the top. I didn’t fuss about the water, she was too nice and besides I never made the distinction of water on the rocks or not. In fact, I didn’t even know they used ice here in Scotland. lol! lol! (joking) But seriously, it was the first time I’d seen ice cubes served with a drink since leaving The Bahamas. But then again! I am a water, tea and wine drinker, none of which requires ice.

 
How many times have you asked for something, only to be disappointed, frustrated or even upset because it wasn’t what you wanted? Whether it’s through prayer or intentional request from the universe, we often ask without specification because we feel that if we say we want a new car, home, job. It’s going to magically pop up in the exact shape of form imagined.

 

My experience at the tea room got me thinking about other times when I unconsciously asked for something without giving a second thought to distinction in what I was asking for.

 

Distinction makes a huge difference. You have to say EXACTLY what it is you want! “I want a job!” Yes, but where would you like to work, have you made yourself qualified to work in the position you’re seeking. You also have to be realistic, I mean, you can’t be a surgeon without first going to medical school. Though I was aware of this, I stunned to see ice floating in my glass of water, it’s second nature to just say “I want this or I want that”, without thinking about being specific in what’s being asked for. I’ve known ladies wish for boyfriends or husbands and are deeply disappointed when they end up with a troll. Yeah! You want a man in your life, but what kind? Tall, short, skinny, fat, romantic, adventurous?  Learning to be specific in what you’re asking for has to become a habit, treat your request like shopping for new clothes. You’re not going to walk into a store and buy the first dress you see the rack. You’ll look at the style, the design, size and length.

 

Gain clarity in your communication. If you’re vague in your communication, don’t expect to get anything else but a vague response. Perfect the wording of your request so that it reflects exactly what you want in return.

~Happy Thursday

©Etta D. Richards

3 comments on “Thankful Thursday-Being Specific in Your Request

  1. cyranny says:

    Very true… We often wish without even knowing what we really hope for. Giving all its meaning to the saying “be careful what you wish for!”

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

