Meaningful Monday-Sometimes You Have to Agree to Disagree


buildings-123780_1280.jpg

pixabay

“Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth.”  ~Marcus Aurelius

There is no law that says you have to agree with the masses and no law that says they have to agree with you. Disagreeing with someone doesn’t mean that the person is wrong or you are right, it simply means that you each see the story from different sides. But some people tend to look down on those who don’t behave according to their expectations. Coming back again to the soon to be held elections in America, I’ve gotten a lot of disgruntle messages both in my private email and social media inbox about my posting on social media who I felt the right person for the job is. Though I’ve ignored those messages and some people have actually deleted me over my views, it made me realise that people don’t fully understand the freedom of choice.

It’s a choice to disagree with someone, disagreeing with them, however, doesn’t give you the right to accuse them of poor judgement or poor beliefs. Learning to appreciate differences in perspectives, lifestyles, and opinions, even if it means overcoming your sense of wanting to be right. Exploring someone else’s view on a subject means opening your mind beyond what is otherwise comfortable to your own perspectives, lifestyles and opinions.

As human beings, we have a natural instinct to dwell on what we look at as weakness in others, we prey on those who don’t share our views and try to bully them into conformity. One of the reasons why I chose to ignore rather than engage those people who were sending me private messages is because the response they were looking for would be completed out of character for me. I got caught once on here debating a country’s right to ban Hijabs, I’ll be the first to say that it was a trap that took me completely out of character and the energy wasted arguing going back and forth on the subject really wasn’t worth the effort. For the sake of sanity, I decided to ignore my opponent.

Remember walking away from any argument or engagement doesn’t mean you are wrong the other person’s right, it only means you are gaining a different view on the matter.

~Happy Monday

©Etta D Richards

2 comments on “Meaningful Monday-Sometimes You Have to Agree to Disagree

  1. Bob Martin says:

    https://t.co/1LouNZVA9H Bobs Story share if you care??? Bob Martin

    Like

Always great to hear from you....

