Feel Good Friday-Creating Your Bucket List


the-bucket-list-734593_1280

“I don’t want to get to the end of my life and find that I lived just the length of it. I want to have lived the width of it as well.”
~Diane Ackerman

All of my readers should now know how passionate I am about encouraging people to set goals for themselves, pursuing their dreams and loving the person you are. I’m also a bug on creating a bucket list of things you’d like to accomplish and I think everyone at some point in their life should create one or a ‘life’s to do list.’

A bucket list gives you the opportunity to reflect on what it is you actually want to experience. None of us knows how long we’re here for, creating a list reminds us of that and that we should ‘live out loud,’ instead of quiet and afraid.  It also gives us something to look forward to.

Gaining inspiration to create a bucket list can be hard because our brains can’t always imagine all the possibilities and fun things open to us. The first instance in creating a bucket list is to keep an open mind, be as free thinking as possible, and make your list as if nothing is impossible. To make it easier, make your list time sensitive, break it up spreading them out into years, months, days, otherwise, you will be discouraged as your list becomes more like an overwhelming task than an achievable goal. To keep momentum decide which items on your list are long term, short term or special term.

Here are a few things on my bucket list that I’m so looking forward to achieving

Publishing my book
Visit India, Dubai, Morrocco
Do something daring- Skydiving
Swim in the Dead Sea.
Spend a night in a haunted Castle-I heard there are a few here in Scotland, did visit a haunted house in Ohio
Start a Student Exchange Agriculture Programme-Uk/Bahamas
Get my business up and running
Get back into shape-Though I’m eating healthier, I’ve gotten lazy over the years work-out department
Learn to play the violin
Ride the Jacobite (The Harry Potter Train)
Experience zero gravity
Buy a cottage somewhere in Scotland

My list is constantly changing as I find new things I’d like to achieve and exciting adventures I’d like to take. This might be a bit confusing, but the goal is to give your list life by keeping it going by always adding to your list.  You can decide today that you’ll visit the new cafe that just opened in your town or city  or plan a trip next year to a destination you’ve always wanted to visit.

Now grab a pen and notebook or open up a new word document and start writing your list. What do you have to lose? Even if you don’t achieve everything on your list or nothing on your list. The fact that you’ve created one shows that you’re not only enjoying life but also living it!

One comment on “Feel Good Friday-Creating Your Bucket List

  1. Deb says:

    Oh I love this!! First of all you must take me along with you when you spend that night in a haunted castle! I love all things ghosts…in fact I’m watching Ghost Adventures right now. I just bought a new journal yesterday (I have many, I love journals) and was wondering what I would use this one for…thank you for answering that question! My first entry will be to accompany Etta to the haunted castle for an overnight! 😉 I must run now I’m excited to start my bucket list!! xo

    Like

Always great to hear from you....

