Thankful Thursday-The Power of Please And Thank You


schutzengelchen-1830372_1280.jpg

“Take time to be kind and to say ‘thank you.” ~ Zig Ziglar


Like most kids my age, I was taught those two magic words that opened cookie jars, got me pats on the head and birthday gift……”Please and Thank You!” My 6-year-old mind couldn’t grasp or appreciate those words, but they worked magic, using please when asking for something invoked serious consideration of delivery, sometimes  making things appear as if by magic especially at Christmas time. I must admit, my grandmother spoiled my brothers and me, though we got what we wanted most of the time, our luck did run from time to time.

But it would take years for me to truly appreciate saying those words, it would take a change in attitude and a shift to gratitude.

Gratitude, I was told was the best security for a fabulous future because the more things one can find to be grateful for, the faster those investments would pile up and pay off by giving us more things to be grateful for. What I couldn’t appreciate at 6 years old was that gift of, what I called a scratchy sweater, my grandmother gifted one Christmas. Looking back on it now that scratchy sweater was more a gift of love than a gift for Christmas and though it’s been 40+ years since I received that gift, I’m more grateful  and appreciative for it now than I was back then because that scratchy sweater became on of my favourite things.

“Make it a habit to tell people thank you. To express your appreciation, sincerely and without the expectation of anything in return. Truly appreciate those around you, and you’ll soon find many others around you. Truly appreciate life, and you’ll find that you have more of it.”  ~ Ralph Marston

Saying please and thank is like having a superpower, it makes the users appear to more grateful, more pleasant and gives off a sense of empathy which will obviously make you more social as people will be attracted to your demure. During this Holiday Season don’t forget to saturate the atmosphere with these two magic words. It won’t hurt to carry that attitude year round. If you find yourself in rude company, simply ignore the attitude and move on. No one is going to say please or thank you to anyone who berates them.

 

 

 

~Happy Thursday

©Etta D. Richards

2 comments on “Thankful Thursday-The Power of Please And Thank You

  1. Miriam says:

    Yes, definitely fundamental words that should be part of every child’s vocabulary from a very young age. Can’t go wrong with good manners.

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

