Wonderful Wednesday-The Overachiever & Why Mediocre Is Not Ok


giphy.gif

“There is a real magic in enthusiasm. It spells the difference between mediocrity and accomplishment.” ~ Norman Vincent Peale

 

I recently sat my fourth out of seven exams for my European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL), I had hit a plateau during the course after not getting a high score for the first module; it took several mouths for me to get over the self-doubt and dive back into it. But then my momentum picked up when I achieved the highest score in the second module. My instructor was shocked when I expressed disappointment in my 90% on my first exam, she was like…”Wow! I must really be an underachiever because if I had gotten a B I would’ve been doing cartwheels.”

 

Am I an overachiever then? I most certainly am! My mind was dead set on making 100%. How could I NOT get 100% in a Microsoft word exam? Me! Who has a degree in the field, who’ve used every version of the application for years! It’s amazing how shocking it is to the system when you find out that you really don’t know what you think you know. It was probably my shattered confidence that was hardest hit, my ego is so used to being suppressed it rarely turnovers for anything less than a broken heart. The course isn’t mandatory for my career, but it’s mandatory for me because I’m learning something new and it’ll be one more thing that can be added to my growing resume. Curiosity brought me to it and satisfaction is going to see me through.

 

Is it ok to be an overconfident overachiever? I think so because how else will you push yourself past the mediocre mindset? Don’t get me wrong, my instructor is a wonderful person, but the message she was sending me was that it’s ok to settle. I understand that different people have different standards of how their lives should be. But in a society that says it’s ok to be an underachiever, it’s ok to be obese if you wear your pounds well, it’s ok to stay in a crappy job as long as it pays the bills…….Sigh! It’s ok to be in a bad relationship if he or she is showering you with gifts or sex;  after all, this is what’s being projected into our lives constantly on television, newspapers, magazine and social media. This false sense that mediocrity is okay is not accepted in my space, it’s been replaced by the truth that in order to achieve the goals I’ve set for myself I must live to a higher standard.  This doesn’t mean driving around in a flashy car or that I’m laden in furs and expensive jewellery, it simply means that I’ve switched my mindset above what some may see as the norm.

 

As human beings we have a need to dream, to allow our dreams to consume us like fire consumes a forest, and to shape our lives into whatever is necessary to accomplish those dreams. In the end, we are entitled to celebrate our achievements, reap the rewards and dream some more. Dreaming builds character, following through with our dreams makes us more confident, capable and inspired individuals with the ability to overcome any obstacles set before us.

 

~Have a Wonderful Wednesday

©Etta D. Richards

4 comments on “Wonderful Wednesday-The Overachiever & Why Mediocre Is Not Ok

  1. Wendy says:

    A great achievement to keep up with the ECDL course and a great philosophy on life! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] yesterday’s blog, you know that life doesn’t always give us what we want. Nor does life gives us what we hoped […]

    Like

Always great to hear from you....

