Meaningful Monday: The Death Of Creativity- Procrastination


beat_procrastination.jpg“Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.”
~Stephen King

We all know what this word means. We set out on a mission of completing something, only to be distracted by something else, and not starting or if we do start not finishing the initial task. Facebook, checking and responding to emails, chatting, surfing the web, watching television are all contributors our procrastination. *Sigh!! I want to be a writer, I mean, I am a writer. Well kinda. I’ve been writing poetry and short stories for a few years now; I’ve even written two motivational books which I hope someday will see the light of day past my computer screen.

 

“Time is an equal opportunity employer. Each human being has exactly the same number of hours and minutes every day. Rich people can’t buy more hours. Scientists can’t invent new minutes. And you can’t save time to spend it on another day. Even so, time is amazingly fair and forgiving. No matter how much time you’ve wasted in the past, you still have an entire tomorrow.”   ~Denis Waitley

 

I’ve read so many articles on the subject of beating procrastination and no suggestions they’ve given seem to work. One article even said make a to-do list the night before and don’t do anything else until you’ve completed everything on your list……..Didn’t work! Another said to just do one thing, it indicated that one of the greatest causes of procrastination is the fact that larger tasks often seem overwhelming……This is true I guess. I mean what can be more overwhelming than writing a book?  As I’m writing this blog,  I’m in a state of procrastination, because each morning I wake up with the drive to write 10 pages of that book; yes 10! See I watched this Author’s Master Class in which a famous author said all writers should write at least 10 pages a day. 10!! If I’m not writing 10 pages per day, does this means I’m not a writer? Or does it simply mean I’m the world’s greatest procrastinator?  Or maybe it means I’m both?? He also spoke about getting into a writer’s trance, this is like being in your ‘Flow.’ This I know, because when I’m writing the words come to me like lyrics to a song, and when I’m writing more often than not, I playing background music, instrumental works for me. But once I’m in that ‘Flow’ the words seem to come effortlessly.

 

So will I ever get to writing 10pages a day?  Maybe! Will I ever be able to control my procrastination? Hmmmm……I’m sure I will.

 

Remember my saying I’ve read articles on the subject? Here’s one that really sparked my interest. It not only tells me why I procrastinate, it also, again, gives tips on our to control it.

Why You Procrastinate

~Happy Monday!!!

© Etta D. Richards

8 comments on “Meaningful Monday: The Death Of Creativity- Procrastination

  1. […] is that they are easily distracted, they often lack the ability to focus. This is not about procrastination, it’s about giving up. Lacking self-discipline means creating a list of things to do but […]

    Like

  2. […] is in their belief. That artist who makes love to the canvas and creates something we all admire, believe in their creativity. In that belief, they equip themselves with the ideals that their mind is fertile enough to create […]

    Like

  3. […] find new information, broaden my discussion on certain subjects I gain more insights. The topic of procrastination came up recently and I got a new take on the subject, at first I was a bit argumentative on this […]

    Like

  4. […] Off For Tomorrow: In other words, PROCRASTINATION. Sign! Figure out what’s important to you NOW. Whatever you’re procreating on […]

    Like

  5. Cheila says:

    Loved the post! I try really hard to fight procrastination but it’s not something easy and doing things “right now” does not come naturally to me. I always need to make an effort in order to stay organized and feel that my battle against procrastination has been a life long one. I’ve became better with age, so that gives me some hope. 🙂

    pinkfordays.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

