Wonderful Wednesday-Being the Non-Conformist And Being Happy


 

rain-360803_1280.jpg

“If you are always trying to be normal, you will never know how amazing you can be.”
~Maya Angelou

 

We all get this feeling that we don’t belong at some point in our lives. Sometimes this feeling stays with us, sometimes we find some satisfaction by breaking away from the conditioning and limiting beliefs that created this conformity and wanting to break away from the pack. From reading my blogs or my “about me” page  you know how much I enjoy meeting people and learning about their lives, you will also know how much I hate whiners because I could never understand why people spend most of their lives being somewhere they didn’t want to be, working with and for people they didn’t like, and settling for receiving little or any reward beyond a monthly paycheck. You’ll also know that I’ve been labelled “overly ambitious” for always wanting more.

 

I’m a non-conformist. But some of the above does resonate with me. Before growing into the person I am, there was no belonging, there were a lot of limiting beliefs, there was some whining and yes there was no foresight of rewards past that monthly paycheck. The great part about life is once you develop a deeper understanding of what it means to go against the grain and become a non-conformist, you will have the ability to live a life beyond on your dreams. Beyond the anticipation of that monthly paycheck and putting up with people and situation you don’t like.

 

“In this huge sometimes overpowering place we find ourselves in, there is room for the non-conformist because this hopelessness doesn’t last forever. Once you find and accept your individuality it passes and along the way you will discover more people like yourself.”

 

The world may seem like a huge place and each of us at some point in our lives has had a sense of hopelessness. It’s difficult being an individual in such a huge, overpowering environment. Take comfort in knowing the world is getting smaller and smaller by the day. I met a gentleman at work who spent time working on the island I’m from in The Bahamas. Now, what are the chances of that? My meeting someone in Scotland who not only knew where Andros Island is but also lived and worked there? Unbelievable right? I say that to say this, this is really a small place where you can feel comfortable because there’s just enough room for you to NOT have to conform to the norm but small enough to not feel like an outsider if you do express your individuality.

 

~Happy Wednesday

©Etta D. Richards

 

 

5 comments on “Wonderful Wednesday-Being the Non-Conformist And Being Happy

  1. Liz C. says:

    Hey Etta. How are you doing? ❤

    I noticed 2 kinds of people.. those who keep complaining about their circumstances and those who just do something about it. You're the second one, and I know you are meant for greater things! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • EttaD says:

      Hi Liz, thank you! What a lovely comment. I’ve been called crazy many times for just doing whatever I want 😉 lol! I understand that my circumstances are due to my actions so there’s nothing to really complain about. Advice to anyone if you don’t like your circumstances, you have to change your actions and attitudes. ❤ 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Liz C. says:

        It gets frustrating when those people are close to you. Like, I tell them to do this or that. I mean, I encourage them to do something different. But some of them just complain and stay the same.

        Liked by 1 person

      • EttaD says:

        I find that some people love the attention of always getting advice from you knowing they’re not going to take it. I often give advice, but it’s a one off. I’ve stopped beating myself up trying to give people sound advice. And yes a lot of them are family members.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Liz C. says:

        Same here. As someone who cares though, I still might give some advise but try to accept that whatever they choose to do.. it’s their choice.

        Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

