Phenomenal Friday-Sometimes You Just Have To Insert That Comma!


outlook-1130223_1280

“Sometimes you need to press pause to let everything sink in.” ~ Sebastian Vettel


Last night I attended my daughter’s high school awards ceremony, I was enthralled by the Head Teacher’s farewell speech both the impending graduates and the school itself as she takes leave of retirement herself in a few months. Her speech hit a cord because she used a common “comma” as the subject of her speech in which she said a comma signifies a pause- “A pause to take a breath before moving.”

 

Stuff like this always has my mind turning. It got me to thinking. How many commas have I had in life? How many times have I paused before moving on? Our lives are filled with moments where we paused to take a breath before moving forward. We pause while waiting for that perfect moment without realising there is no perfect moment to do anything because now is all we have. We pause in our relationships while waiting for something better instead of making ourselves better. Only love can find love. You have to love yourself completely before you can be loved completely.

 

In our efforts to pause between life’s little moments we should make those pauses count, they are where we find truth and meaning within ourselves. Anyone who practices meditation or yoga would value the importance of pausing, it’s that pause brings peace and helps us settle into that pose. During the ceremony, I paused to reflect on the past three years, the concerns I had with my daughter having to adapt to a new country, a new school while fitting in among her peers. Between the applause, I paused to reflect on the importance of family, friendship and the joys of new beginnings.

 

 

Take a few minutes to notice your breath, If you’re feeling breathless from racing through life….Pause! I don’t necessarily mean huffing and puffing breathlessness, I mean moments of confused thoughts of nothing racing through your mind or that feeling of hopelessness.

 

~Happy  Friday

©Etta D. Richards

*Visit Debbie for her weekly #ForgivingFriday blogs.

7 comments on “Phenomenal Friday-Sometimes You Just Have To Insert That Comma!

  1. […] began through a mutal friend over 20 years ago. Since then, she’s been my shoulder to cry on, my voice of reasoning and designated conscience. She’s been the one to tell me to go right when I wanted to go […]

    Like

  2. […] Here are 8 ways to appreciate the time you have left: […]

    Like

  3. Wendy says:

    Gosh – oh so true Etta – a moment to pause and take stock is so important. I realised that myself last year when I felt like I was running on the hamster’s wheel. Jumping off for a while has helped me see the light through the forest of trees.. This is a lovely post – thank you for sharing and reminding us of how important those commas truly are! x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] had two wonderful teachers this past week.  Simply Etta D.  shared about the importance of truly pausing in our lives.  Following Him Beside Still Waters […]

    Like

  5. YES! Etta D. I love this. It could so be a contribution for Forgiving Fridays, if you want to participate again. 🙂 🙂 (Funny, because my contribution for today is a post that has to do with self-love and forgiveness) Have a wonderful weekend, Etta D. Grateful for your blog. ~Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

