Meaningful Monday-Having Fun In Disappointment


children-1836045_1280.jpg

“We must all suffer one of two things: the pain of discipline or the pain of regret or disappointment.” ~ Jim Rohn


In the past, whenever I faced circumstances that opposed my expectations, I had a tendency of creating additional stress by imagining the worse case scenario possible. It took a lot of years, a lot of mental training shake myself out of the stage of disappointment and think about how to best overcome the obstacles I was facing, to look at the upside to the situation instead of the downside because it doesn’t matter how bad things are or get, there’s a flip-side. Sure nothing last forever but in a difficult situation, one minute could seem like a lifetime and I got enough stress overly reacting and imaging World War III at my door steps.

 

When you’ve reached a point where you can face disappointment without completely losing your stance or tossing your hands in the air and giving up gives you the best of both worlds. You can enjoy the exhilaration of taking the risk as well as the passion of doing something that will benefit you. Deep down you can savour the taste of victory. It doesn’t have a be a HUGE one it can be something as small passing an exam or achieving a goal, whatever the case celebrate. The point is to get your mental state used to overacting to the overcoming the obstacle instead of relishing in the disappointment of it.

 

I’d rather step forward into whatever lessons life throws at me than retreat into the shadows for fear of falling flat on my face.

 

~Happy Monday

©Etta D. Richards

6 comments on “Meaningful Monday-Having Fun In Disappointment

  1. […] am not in a comfortable position right now, but I’ve decided to NOT make this experience any more horrible by imaging the worse case scenario. I’m going to step back into character and be the positive […]

    Like

  2. Tikeetha T says:

    I do the same thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. omobim1 says:

    Hmmm, true talk, i would rather open up to life too than hide in fears. Thanks for the post

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Liz C. says:

    Hi Etta. I really needed to see this today. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I love the quote and your insights that go along with it. I also need to get used to that mental training…

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

