Meaningful Monday-Why One Size Doesn’t Always Work


One-Size-Doesn't-Fit-All

I think the big myth about habits, and happiness too, is that there’s somehow a magic “one size fits all” solution. That, “If it works for you it’s going to work for me.”
~Gretchen Rubin

 

I love hitting the Charity Shops, in a town where there’s not much to do, it’s become a Saturday pass time IF I’m not exploring Scotland. Back home thrift shops as we call them are not as popular as they are here, you may find one or two, three if you’re lucky in the city back home, pride just doesn’t allow some people to put a toe past their doors. But I’ve always been attracted to a good bargain and often spent my Saturday morning hitting garage sales, you find the most interesting trinkets in those stores. There’s a Charity Shop almost on every corner in my town, with three spots I visit often because they support my favourite charities.

 

This past week I wandered into one of those stores, there it was, a Monsoon cotton and lace top with the store tag still attached, yes you can find new items in Charity Stores, I flipped the tag to check the size and it said ONE SIZE FITS ALL! I was like urrrggghhhhh! One size fits sizing rarely works for me the clothing is usually not accommodating or too big. Out of curiosity, I tried the shirt. Yes, it fit BUT it was too short for my liking. After a few minutes of spinning and turning in front of the fitting room mirror, I decided I could make it work. Winter is Coming here and layering will soon be a necessity so wearing a vest underneath and a Cardigan on top could give me the desired coverage. In the end, I settled for my One Size Fits All wear.

 

But clothing is the only thing that I would entertain when it comes to one size fitting all. In life, that definitely does not work! Many people are stuck in the paradigm that you have to live according to the standards of society. I have written about shifting your paradigms  and this is just another analogy in comparison to everyday living. Sure it’s ok to pull a shirt off the rack and hope it fits but will you take a job because you friend is doing the same job and hope it works for you as well as it is for them? It’s like that Warren Buffet quote…..

 

“There comes a time when you ought to start doing what you want. Take a job that you love. You will jump out of bed in the morning. I think you are out of your mind if you keep taking jobs that you don’t like because you think it will look good on your resume. Isn’t that a little like saving up sex for your old age? “

 

Maybe you’re not saving up sex for old age, but it is kinda crazy to sit on a job you don’t like simply because someone else is enjoying the same job. Don’t fall into that trap of one size fits all and if it doesn’t fit, sitting long enough until it does because it never will, you are meant to live a life that fits you, not one that fits someone else.

 

~Happy Monday

©Etta D. Richards

 

2 comments on “Meaningful Monday-Why One Size Doesn’t Always Work

  1. That’s Right! If it don’t fit. Don’t force it. Just Relax and Let it go!! LOL!! I do believe I’ve missed my calling as a Human Jukebox because everything reminds me of a song! Now if I could have a high paying job as a Roaming Photographer Human Jukebox Prose Poetess Life would be Grand! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

