Waiting Out the Storm & Overcoming the Stresses that Comes with It


Storm-hurricane-irma-bahamas

This week has been an emotional roller coaster, with a Category 5 storm barrelling down on The Bahamas and my daughter being stuck between destinations, it’s really been challenging to stay without going into a panic attack. It’s the unknowing that’s really the killer, it’s not a matter on if the storm will make landfall, it’s all a matter of when!

I don’t handle stress well which is why I tend to deflect it as much as possible because coping with stress in any form whether expected or unexpected has a huge effect on one’s life and manifest itself in so many ways. If you’re lucky, tiredness is the only stress factor you have to deal with; and despite years of stress management practices, at this point in the game, my body aches in places I had forgotten existed. The mind doesn’t offer any assistance unless you can quiet it to whisper, as it’s the first to be hit by rising stress levels because it’s always working and love to spin creative, often worse case scenarios of any situation. Sigh!

In situations like these, the first reflex is to dull the senses through denial, emotional eating (guilty) or comfort in form, alcohol, drugs etc. This is not the way to go because none of those solutions works, they may dull the senses but the problem is still there, it’s best to face your situation head on but if it’s a situation beyond your control it’s perfectly fine to let it go and let it work itself out. I can’t stop or detour Irma from her path, I can’t get my daughter on a plane now, now. But what I can do is make sure she’s on the next available flight out after the storm and pray for the safety of those in its path. Does that make me feel less stressed? Of course not, stress doesn’t really go away until we see the results of our actions or some resolution to our problem.

I am not in a comfortable position right now, but I’ve decided to NOT make this experience any more horrible by imaging the worse case scenario. I’m going to step back into character and be the positive person I’ve spent years becoming instead of that person who always assumed the worst.

*This is my submission to Debbie’s Forgiving Friday Serials, where she writes about and invite others to share their thoughts on  Forgiveness and Personal Growth.

Please note: I am NOT a Medical Health Professional. If you are struggling with mental health issues, taking prescription medication to control anxiety, stress or any disorder, I’m in no way suggesting you come off your medication. In addition, If you happen to live in one of the areas that will be impacted by Hurricane Irma stay safe and be certain to have an ample supply of prescribed or over the counter medication you may be taking. 

~Happy Friday

©Etta D. Richard

16 thoughts on “Waiting Out the Storm & Overcoming the Stresses that Comes with It

  1. A very poignant post and your awareness of what is helpful to yourself is such a blessing in situations that are beyond anyone’s control. I hope your daughter is safe and well and our hearts and prayers go out to everyone who has been affected 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, Etta, I love this post! You have such an amazing ability to write what is authentic for you and hold to a perspective of loving and gratitude… even when you’re struggling. Go Etta! Sending so much Light and love to your daughter. Remember that Spirit has got her ❤

    I find that taking deep breaths, meditating, and of course forgiveness helps when I'm in the uncomfortableness of the unknowing. And if all else fails, then running around the block. (True – I did this a few days ago). So love you and the way you love your daughter.

    This is a gorgeous contribution to Forgiving Fridays – I'll share it in my post this week. Love and blessings, Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Debbie, meditation, forgiveness and the occasional running or speed walking around the block does the trick. Once you’ve gotten over the shock and anxiety of the situation 😉

      Thank you for your loving spirit. xxxx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m feeling a little better now as Irma has shift slightly to the West and I’m able to communicate with her so far 🙂 But I lit candles for all of those in her path. The Southern Caribbean Islands got a pounding, then there was the Earthquake in Mexico. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Always great to hear from you....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.