Wellness Wednesday-Smart Goals


writing-427527_960_720.jpg
Pixabay

“What you get by achieving your goals is not as important as what you become by achieving your goals.”  ~ Zig Ziglar

Looking back at the year so far 1. I can’t believe it’s August already, I still have my angels from Christmas on my mantel. 2016 seems to be the fastest year yet 2. I can’t believe that my babies are another year older and I’m almost 50!! Shocking and scary….Eeek! I reflect and reflect often on what’s going well and what’s gotten better over the past few years. But there are still a few grey areas that need improving, emotionally I’m solid as a rock, and nothing much shocks me these days. Mentally I’m stable, I think. Haven’t put that to the test lately. Physically I’m fit and have been more active, but there is still room for improvement, my goal is to get back to the weight I was when I thought I was fat. Health-wise, my doctor says I’m healthy as a Highland Coo (Cow). Hmm, are Highland Cows healthy than horses? Will have to research that one.

So many people I know complain about something not going well in their lives, but few of them actually do anything about it. Some set goals and some choose to wing it and make it up as they go along. But to be successful in ALL areas of your life, whether it’s the success in achieving and maintaining a healthy lifestyle, success in achieving wealth, success in becoming a better person, parent or partner……Your goals have to be tangible, by jotting down what’s going well, and how you can build on that, along with what you may need to improve on gives you the incentive to achieve those things. I’m an advocate for journaling. It doesn’t matter the age or gender. I’ve encouraged my daughters to put their goals on paper at an early age and even know they still keep it in practice. What do they want to see happen in a week? A month, six months, a year……….! Writing down your goals gives time to live, it says this is where I’m going and this is how I plan to get there.

Don’t just write aimlessly. You have to enjoy what you’re doing, set realistic goals, and stick to the path that leads you to them. This may seem a bit obvious, but it’s quite easy to get stuck in a plan that doesn’t have the staying power to keep you interested because you don’t actually like the choices you have to make to keep them going or they are someone else’s plan. Someone else’s plan could be as simple as you wanting to take up running and your partner wanting to hit the gym. It can also be, seeing someone else gaining success in one field, so you decide to try your hand at it knowing you have no interest in that particular field of business. Don’t get sidetracked by what other people are doing.

For the remaining quarter of the year, try setting a few SMART goals. Smart goals help make your larger goals more manageable. Consider setting a small goal or two to achieve before the end of September and another goal or two to complete by the end of the year.

~Happy Wednesday!  🙂

©Etta D. Richards

Always great to hear from you....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.